Song of the Sea

A very brief post. I’ve just come across this Youtube by Elihana Elia , an Israeli singer, which I’d like to share with you. Please click on the link. Obviously, I am a Christian. I hope I am sensitive to possible tension there might be in my linking it, but I hope she won’t mind. I think it’s good. I came across this by chance, and I don’t know anything about her at all, but I think it captures something of the exuberant joy and thankfulness of the original.

Miriam’s Song – Book 6

In Book 6 you’ll find ‘Miriam’s Song’ in DCM.  It is a selection of verses from Exodus 15, 1b-3, 6, 10, 13, 17, corresponding to CWDP Canticle 19, where its full title is A Song of Moses and Miriam. Strictly that is more correct. Moses and the people sing.  Miriam and her fellow women dance with tambourines.

It is a song of joy at God’s deliverance of the children of Israel from the pursuing army of Pharaoh, at the Red Sea, Ex 15:21 (NRSV),
“Sing to the Lord, for he has triumphed gloriously; horse and rider he has thrown into the sea.”.

In CWDP it is recommended for mornings after Easter. What appears there, and in Book 6, is a selection, an abbreviation, of the original, which runs to 18 verses.  The full version is known as the Song of the Sea and at the moment, I am considering changing the title of the version in the collection in its next iteration to Song of the Sea.

Leave a Reply

